If you were the teacher…

11 Oct

This image was taken from a blog called Writing Prompts

For your freewrite today, I want you to write your response to this image/these questions (graphic novels and short essays are acceptable alternatives). Rather than writing privately in your freewrite journal, though, I’d like you to post it as a comment on this post. It will become something like a class reading list.

9 Responses to “If you were the teacher…”

  1. alexcastillo06 October 12, 2011 at 10:50 AM #

    If there was one book everyone should read, I think it would have to be a world history book with all the major events that have happened. This would give everyone a general idea of why the world is the way it is today. We should be able to see all the major changes and maybe people would get a better understanding of the world. It would make the world better by letting people see the patterns that come in the world and how we can stop a bad pattern from happening again. Also “if we do not learn from our history we are doomed to repeat it” -George Santayana.

  2. NP October 12, 2011 at 10:51 AM #

    (see I do the work too)

    I would make everyone read Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. The story traces the events that lead up to a high school girl’s suicide. Each of the people who, in her opinion, pushed her towards the act are forced to listen to a series of tapes that she prerecorded and then pass them on.

    I think many of us take for granted the way that our actions affect others, and this book is a good wake up call. Plus, teen suicide occurs all too often in our society and awareness is one way of encouraging prevention. Unfortunately, many people, more specifically adults, overlook teenager’s cries for help as teenage drama.

  3. klari237 October 12, 2011 at 10:52 AM #

    I think everyone in the world should have to read a thousand splendid suns. When I read this book in high school it really made me appreciate where I came from. In this book the character’s home town was being invaded by different government rules that were almost impossible to live with. Women were treated horribly and Men were also treated horribly. The main character was forced to an arranged marriage and it was terrible to read about how her life changed. I could never imagine having everything where I live change. I feel like this book would change the world because everyone would appreciate where they come from. They would maybe look at their life and say wow I really like where I live and I am so glad to live in a place that I have the freedom to live my own life. I just really liked to read this book in school I would hope other people would like it too.

  4. lawnchairsports October 12, 2011 at 10:54 AM #

    one book i would make the world to read is “Fall River Dreams” by Bill Reynolds. it is based on a true story on how one kid really messed up his life. Reynolds followed Durfee High School during their basketball season. he was writing a book on how they were so succesful. Instead the book became more about how their star player partied every night and so did most of the team. the kid ended up going to college to play but later dropped out do to bad grades and joined the NBA. he didn’t make it in the league for very long. with no college degree he ended up partying even more and was stuck in Fall River for the rest of his life. The book is very moving on how one thing can mess up your life and ruin the thing you love most. i believe that most people don’t know that one mistake can really mess you up and this book will get that in their heads just like it got into my classes headed when we read it as juniors in high school.

  5. jhetman October 12, 2011 at 10:55 AM #

    i think that everyone should do a report on their ancestry because I alway see commercials on tv about family history. It’s interesting you’ll never know what you will find, for example my close friend Jackie who I’ve know since freshmen year of high school apparently have family ties because her grandfather and my grandfather worked for the mob, in fact they were even partners in the “collection service”.

  6. stephaniedontis October 12, 2011 at 10:56 AM #

    I would chose Alice’s Adventure in Wonderland, because its very open to interpretations. In each chapter it teaches you a different lesson, through different characters. Alice falls down the rabbit hole and gets lost in a fantasy world. The book quotes “everything has a moral, if only you can find it.” There are so many lessons in this book. Its about growing up or rejecting society, Alice is “different” from everyone else and she learns to accept herself in society.Although Alice follows what other people are telling her, she stops them and says she has a right to speak just as much as they do.

  7. -Lyrics! October 12, 2011 at 10:56 AM #

    One book I think everyone in the world should read is “Green Eggs ans Ham” by Dr. Seuss. If you can fully understand that story you’ll probably know the basics to everything there is to know about literature. It may not be advanced, but it’s a children’s book, so you wouldn’t expect that. The book has it’s way of introducing plot, settings, characters, climax, vocabulary, rhymes schemes, and even story morals. All in an enjoyable little story about Sam wanting this stranger to try his dish of green eggs and ham. It may not change the world, but I think it’s a great way to introduce literature to people from all over the world.

  8. vnicassio October 12, 2011 at 10:56 AM #

    If I got to make one book required reading for everyone on the planet, I would choose “The Five People You Meet In Heaven” by Mitch Albom. I choose this because I feel like we can all relate to the main character Eddie, who had a childhood, happiness and hardships. He dies trying to save a young girl off of a broken ride that he maintains at the pier, this is when he meets five people in Heaven, all five have something to do within his life, one of them being his wife. Eddie is a good hearted man who lived in misery and found peace.

  9. jennahorvath October 12, 2011 at 10:46 PM #

    If everyone in the world had to read a book I would want them to read “go ask alice”. Go ask alice is a book about a girl who had everything in control, until one day her world flipped upside down when she was introduced to drugs. I would want everyone to read this book because this book helped me always say no to things. It helps me in my everyday life to think about the choices I make, before I actually make them. It makes me think twice, so I don’t make major mistakes. If everyone read this book I believe it would amek the world a better place because the book could influence people just like it influenced me. It doesn’t have to be with just drugs, it could be with anything. If people would just take a second out to think before they do something, it would save them a lot of heartache.

Leave a Reply

